Dyson Airwrap Alternatives: Multi-Stylers Compared Spec by Spec
Have your eye on a Dyson Airwrap, but want to know first whether an alternative brings just as much? We put the brands' US product pages, manuals and support pages side by side: attachments, heat and speed settings, weight, cord and warranty. We haven't tried any of these devices ourselves. Everything here is what Dyson, Shark, T3, Revlon and ghd state, read on October 21, 2026.
What the Dyson Airwrap offers, according to Dyson
Our comparison has two Airwrap models, both in the Straight+Wavy version. The Dyson Airwrap i.d. (HS08) has three temperature settings including constant cold, according to its manual. Dyson counts the cold setting as one of them. We count heated settings only and list the cold one as a cool shot, so in our data that's two heat settings plus a cool shot. Add three speed settings and 6 attachments in the box. Dyson states 1.4 lb (22.4 oz), an 8.5 ft cord, 1,300 W and a 2-year limited warranty. According to the product page, the styler regulates its temperature itself and has ionic technology, and the manual says the filter is removable.
The newer Dyson Airwrap Co-anda2x (HS09) says "4 heat" on the product page, and the manual spells it out: four heat settings including constant cold. Counted our way, that's three heat settings plus the cool shot. It also has three speed settings and 6 attachments, draws 1,700 W and comes with the same 2-year limited warranty. Its cord is shorter, at 6.5 ft. On the weight, Dyson's own pages disagree: the standard product pages say 0.9 lb, while a 2025 special edition page for the same device says 2.14 lb. Rather than pick one, we've left the weight out.
What both lack: instead of a bag you get a presentation case, and both are rated for 120 V only. That's fine at home, but not for trips abroad. Dyson doesn't mention a swivel cord on the pages we read. In the Spec Index, as of October 21, 2026, the Airwrap i.d. scores 7.2 out of 10 and ranks 3rd among hot air brushes, and the Co-anda2x scores 6.9 and ranks 5th. The i.d. loses points for having only two heat settings, the Co-anda2x for its shorter cord and for the weight Dyson doesn't state consistently.
Which Dyson Airwrap alternative comes closest? The specs in one table
For us, a true alternative has interchangeable attachments: a multi-styler like the Airwrap itself. You'll often see these called Airwrap dupes. We'd rather say alternatives, because each one is its own brand's styler with its own specs. Here are the key values at a glance:
| Device | Attachments | Heat/speed settings | Weight | Cord | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dyson Airwrap i.d. | 6 | 2/3 | 1.4 lb (22.4 oz) | 8.5 ft | 2 years |
| Dyson Airwrap Co-anda2x | 6 | 3/3 | not stated | 6.5 ft | 2 years |
| Shark FlexStyle 5-in-1 (HD430) | 5 | 3/3 | not stated | 8 ft | 2 years |
| Shark FlexStyle IonCurl (HD840PU) | 5 | 4/3 | 1.5 lb (24 oz) | 8 ft | 2 years |
| T3 Aire 360 | 4 | 3/3 | not stated | 9 ft | 2 years |
The heat settings count heated settings only, which is why the two Airwraps show one fewer here than in Dyson's own figures. According to the brands, all five also have a cool shot or a cold setting, and all five warranties are limited warranties. "Not stated" means the brand doesn't give the value in the documents we read. We leave prices out on purpose: they change all the time and play no part in the Spec Index.
Shark FlexStyle or Dyson Airwrap?
The Shark FlexStyle 5-in-1 (HD430) comes with 5 attachments: two 1.25 inch Auto-Wrap Curlers, an oval brush, a paddle brush and a styling concentrator. (Wondering what kind of curl a 1.25 inch barrel gives? Our curling iron size guide has a chart.) Shark's style guide lists three heat settings, low, medium and high, plus a no-heat setting, along with three speed settings, and the product page says the styler regulates its heat itself. The cord is 8 ft, the warranty is a 2-year limited warranty, and it runs on 120 V. Shark lists no bag in the box and doesn't mention a swivel cord. The weight is a puzzle: the spec table says 3.72 lb, which looks like the package, and the text only says "just over 1.5lbs", so we've left it out. The wattage differs too: 1,600 W on the product page, 1,300 W in the safety instructions for the HD400 series. In the Spec Index, the HD430 scores 7.2 and ranks 4th. That's the same score as the Airwrap i.d., which ranks ahead because Dyson's data covers more of the criteria (94% against 86%). If you'd like a diffuser as well, Shark's HD440BK is the HD430 with a Curl-Defining Diffuser added, for 6 attachments.
The Shark FlexStyle IonCurl (HD840PU), full name FlexStyle NextGen: IonCurl, also has 5 attachments: two 1.25 inch Auto-Wrap Coanda Curlers, a FrizzFighter polisher, a styling concentrator and an oval brush. It has the most heat settings of the multi-stylers, four, from 122 °F in its lowest mode up to 203 °F, plus three speed settings and a cool shot. According to Shark, it weighs 1.5 lb (24 oz), a little more than the Airwrap i.d., and it has an 8 ft cord, 1,700 W, ionic technology, a removable filter, heat regulation and a 2-year limited warranty. Like the HD430, it's rated for 120 V, with no bag in the box and no swivel cord mentioned. In the Spec Index it scores 7.4 and ranks 2nd, ahead of both Airwraps. Seeing other model numbers? The HD840 is the same styler in blue, and the HD841PU is the same styler with a diffuser in the box.
T3 Aire 360: two voltages and a swivel cord
The T3 Aire 360 leads our hot air brush comparison with a Spec Index of 8.2, rank 1. It owes that mostly to things the other multi-stylers don't have or their brands don't state. It's the only one rated for two voltages, 110 to 125 V and 220 to 240 V according to the manual, so it can come along on trips abroad. It's the only one with a stated swivel cord, and at 9 ft that cord is the longest in our comparison. And it comes with a storage tote. T3's product page also lists three heat settings, three speed settings, a cool shot and heat regulation, and the manual gives a 2-year limited warranty. The trade-offs: its 4 attachments (two curling attachments, a left and a right one, an oval brush and a SoftAire drying concentrator) are two fewer than an Airwrap's, and T3 doesn't state the weight. If you want as many attachments as possible, look at the Airwraps and the Sharks. If you travel or like room to move, the T3 is worth a closer look.
Or is a brush without interchangeable attachments enough?
Not everyone needs six attachments. If you mostly want a round-brush blowout, these three are worth a look, even though strictly speaking they aren't Airwrap alternatives:
- The Dyson Airsmooth (HB01) has a fixed brush head; the box adds only a bristle protector. Dyson states 185 to 235 °F, three heat settings plus a cold setting, three speed settings, 1.4 lb (22.4 oz), a 6.6 ft cord, a removable filter and its 2-year limited warranty for hair care. It works on 100 to 240 V, according to Dyson, which makes it the only device in our comparison besides the T3 that's rated for more than one voltage. Spec Index 5.6, rank 6; it gets no points for attachments.
- The Revlon Salon One-Step Hair Dryer and Volumizer has a non-detachable brush head and three combined heat and speed settings, so you don't set heat and airflow separately. Revlon states 1,100 W, a ceramic coating, a 4-year limited warranty, the longest in our comparison, and 120 V for US outlets only. It doesn't state a cool shot, heat regulation, weight or cord length, so its data coverage is 53.5%. Below 70% we don't give a rank: Revlon states too little for one.
- The ghd duet blowdry also has a fixed brush head. In the box you get a heat-resistant bag and mat and a cleaning brush, and ghd states an auto shut-off after 30 minutes, heat regulation, an 8.8 ft cord, a 2-year warranty and 120 V only. ghd doesn't give the number of settings, a cool shot or the weight, so with 61% data coverage it gets no rank either.
What the brands' specs don't tell you
To be honest: some of the questions you'll ask when you hold anything up against an Airwrap, the brands simply don't answer.
- Weight: we have a usable figure only for the Airwrap i.d. and the Airsmooth (1.4 lb each) and for the Shark IonCurl (1.5 lb). For the Co-anda2x and the FlexStyle HD430, the brands' own figures contradict each other, and T3, Revlon and ghd don't state one. So we can't tell you whether the T3 is lighter than an Airwrap.
- Swivel cord: only T3 states one. Dyson, Shark, Revlon and ghd don't mention it on the pages we read.
- Temperatures in degrees: only Shark for the IonCurl (122 to 203 °F) and Dyson for the Airsmooth (185 to 235 °F) give them. For the two Airwraps, the HD430 and the T3, you get settings, not degrees.
- How the curls form: every brand describes its curling attachments in its own way. We don't score that, because without our own measurements nobody can say which approach shapes hair better.
- Missing models: the Revlon One-Step Volumizer PLUS isn't in our comparison because its US page states too little: four heat settings including cool, a 4-year limited warranty and ionic technology. The page for the Drybar All-Inclusive 8-in-1 Multi-Styler contradicts itself ("Four air and three heat settings" in one place, "3 speed and 4 temperature settings" in another), and the Drybar Double Shot page states only three temperature settings, ionic technology and a 2-year limited warranty. The Hot Tools 24K Gold One-Step Blowout (HT1076) would stay without a rank, since Hot Tools states no speed settings, cool shot, heat regulation or voltage for it, and for its Black Gold One-Step Detachable (HT1096BG) Hot Tools gives neither a number of settings nor a number of months for the lifetime limited warranty. Remington's hair dryer brush AS9550NA falls just short of 70% data coverage.
Which alternative suits you?
- Lots of attachments: the two Airwraps have 6 each and the two Shark FlexStyles 5 each. The Shark HD440BK and HD841PU add a diffuser.
- Light weight: among the multi-stylers with a stated weight, the Airwrap i.d. is the lightest at 1.4 lb (22.4 oz). The only alternative with a stated weight is the Shark IonCurl, at 1.5 lb (24 oz).
- Lots of heat settings: the Shark IonCurl has four; the Airwrap Co-anda2x, the FlexStyle HD430 and the T3 Aire 360 have three each, counting heated settings only.
- Long cord and room to move: the T3 Aire 360 has a 9 ft swivel cord, and the Airwrap i.d. comes next at 8.5 ft.
- Bag in the box: of the multi-stylers, only the T3 Aire 360, with its tote. Among the brushes, the ghd duet blowdry.
- Travel abroad: the T3 Aire 360 and the Dyson Airsmooth are rated for more than one voltage. Everything else here is rated for 120 V only.
You'll find every hot air brush with all its values and sources in our hot air brush comparison. How the points come together is explained on our method page.